ShadowTwin Home

Site Links:
Arthur Witles
Who I am - Site info
Music Lost to History Archive
Horoscope Archive
Original Poetry
Pre-Blogger Archives
Stuff I Made
Vacation Photos
My coming of age story.
Programs I use for the site
Email me

Timeless Quote:
"Life is a succession of lessons which must be lived to be understood." - Helen Keller

Obligatory Linkage:
Without his site, my site would never have existed.

I have decided not to put a forward and back feature onto the poetry pages because 1)I never click through a website using those buttons. 2) I doubt you will care to read more than one. 3) Your browser's back button is quicker and easier. 4) God told me not to.

The poetry that is on this site is all original, and all my own, of course. It has been posted on various free websites throughout the years, and I have seen copies of it turning up on other sites. It is really unfortunate that that happened, as it has soured me to the actual writing of new work, yet it actually makes me smile a bit to think that someone thought it was good enough that they would rather steal my work than the next guy's. Perhaps that is a monumentally fucked up way to look at it, but hey, I calls 'em like I sees 'em.

The interesting thing about the poetry is that it will be the absolutely ONLY thing that goes live on this site without editing. I have said that some of the other stuff I have done is not edited, but I do fix the typos and the such on stories and other such. I kind of find a bit of a weird fascination with the little typos in the poems, does that make me a freak? Probably. But I am the one posting it, and you are the one reading it (well hell, that might only be me too). Maybe I am a freak.

These works were all written a very long time ago. I was going through an emotional time in my life that I would not wish on even my worst enemy. It was brutal, but I lived through it, and I am sure that if you are reading it, you did too. As with much of the stuff that I will be adding here over time, not all of what I write is dark and depressing. It is just that the ones I have readily available in a digital format are, so bear with me on the uplifting, moving, ENYA type stuff that I have only paper copies of. Now, on to the poetry!

All Hallow's Eve
Beneath These Lonely Skies
The Child Lost
A Child of the Night
Counting Teardrops
Dark Dreams
The Demon's Symphony
A God Forsaken
My Final Prayer
Into the sea
The Pale Horse
Ritual Sacrifice
Shades of Death
The Single Candle
Something to Believe
Tears Upon the Floor
These Sorrowed Seas
Through the Silence of the Dark
Wasted Time
While She Weeps

Have a question or comment? Email me
All site content is © Donnie Burgess 2004-2009